Senaste Inlägg

9/12 Bay of Islands, Cape Reinga & 90 mile beach

Hello,
I just got back from a trip up north to Bay of Islands and Cape Reinga. It was awesome. However, you really do need to have a boat to enjoy bay of islands to the fullest..

In Bay of Islands I went on a day trip with a boat around the islands and to check out the famous hole in the rock. I was supposed to swim with dolphins but I had an insanely irritating cold which made me reconsider such enjoyment.. I ended up taking photographs of the lucky people who got to do it :E so there I was, sitting in my little corner on the outside deck with loads of toiletpaper and a continous dripping nose. I felt quite miserable that trip actually.

BUT, the next day I felt quite good :) so I decided to take the bus up to Cape Reinga (top of North Island). The busride there was quite uneventfull and pretty boring. However it was beautiful when we finally got there! After walking around taking photographs as the tourists we are, we travelled to one of the nearby beaches. After chillin' on the beach for a while we travelled west to 90 mile beach where we got to bodyboard down the massive sanddunes. It was awesome! It was just like a desert (the sanddunes) but with water channels around it and a view of the massive 90 miles beach.. AMAZING! I luuvd it, if you ever travel to New Zealand's North Island, then don't miss out on the great Cape Reinga and 90 mile beach (sanddunes). Anyway.. after we'd sandsurfed down the "sandmountains" a few times we jumped back into the bus to drive along the 90 mile beach. It is so long and wide that it is a public highway for vehicles. Pretty crazy ;)

When we got back we went to the beach with our ciders and beers previously bought and found a discrete spot to hang out in. We were a bounch of people and went through a few drinking games under the starts before we headed back to the hostel to have a good sleep after a long day.

So here I am, sitting in my "old" room in Devonport writing this blog entry with a cider in by my side. Tomorrow it's time to head down south, starting in Coromandel & hot water beach to later head down to Waitomo Caves, rotorua, Taupu, etc.. And ofcourse South Island adventures:)

I love New Zealand, I really do :)

Have it sweeet as bro!


0 Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback